Common Core Standards

In June of 2010, the National Governors Association and State Education chiefs launched Common State Academic Standards which have come to be known as Common Core State Standards.  As of May of this year, 46 states have adopted these standards.

These standards were developed by teachers, experts, and administrators.   Their purpose is to provide a consistent framework which will prepare American students for college and the workforce.

Each state will follow its own path from adopting to implementing these standards.  Byron Garrett, CEO of the National PTA , believes that:

 The K-12 standards for math and English Language Arts are challenging and clear, and states that adopt them will be on their way to graduating more of their high school students ready for college and career.

Bill Gates thinks:

 The more states that adopt these college and career based standards, the closer we will be to sharing innovation across state borders and becoming more competitive as a country.”

In Lima, Ohio, the public city schools will take a proactive approach.  Their lesson plans will echo CCSS beginning next year, 2012-2013.   Their students will be assessed using CCSS based instruments beginning in 2013-2014, just like the students in 22 other states (51% of American public school students).   By starting to use common core standards in lesson planning next year, Lima students will be better prepared for the new generation of standardized tests which begin the following year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: